Connect with us


2023 News-Herald boys golf all-stars




Charlie Pollock

Chagrin Falls, junior

Pollock rode a banner regular season into a postseason to remember, as he earns 2023 News-Herald boys golfer of the year honors. In an award based entirely on postseason performance, it’s difficult to argue Pollock’s body of work. He was a Division II sectional medalist, carding a 73, D-II district medalist with a 72 and 11th at the D-II state tournament with a two-day score of 154. The Tigers were fourth as a team at state. While teammate Sven Nielsen was two strokes better at state, Pollock was several strokes better over the postseason.


(in alphabetical order)

Jimmy Hoose, Sr., Lake Catholic

10th D2 district (77), 2nd sectional (77)

Sven Nielsen, Sr., Chagrin Falls

7th D2 state (152), 3rd district (75), 5th sectional (79)

Jackson Pinney, Jr., University

21st D1 district (78), 1st sectional (69)

Ethan Roberts, Jr., University

50th D1 district (82), 4th sectional (74)

Charlie Tzefronis, Sr., Gilmour

5th D2 district (76), 2nd sectional (77)


(in alphabetical order)

Kyle Boyd, Jr., Lake Catholic: 28th D2 district (83), 2nd sectional (77)

Troy Domen, Sr., Cardinal: 7th D3 district (80), 14th sectional (79)

Michael Lavrisha, Jr., South: 64th D1 district (84), 8th sectional (78)

Will Misconish, Jr., Benedictine: 36th D2 district (84), 4th sectional (78)

Andre Reider, Sr., NDCL: 23rd D2 district (82), 5th sectional (79)


Andrews Osborne: Bryce Brewster; Beachwood: Gavi Lappen; Benedictine: Nicholas Vitantonio; Berkshire: Jake Patterson; Brush: Kyle Farrell; Cardinal: Matthew Hiss; Chagrin Falls: Oliver Tepper; Chardon: Sam Sulka; Cornerstone Christian: Will Archer; Geneva: Will Dushney; Gilmour: Aidan McKito; Harvey: Julian Baker; Hawken: Jack Zeid; Kirtland: Nick Nead; Lake Catholic: Brayden Mann; Madison: Evan Smith; Mayfield: Josh Kutsikovich; Mentor: Andrew Betz; NDCL: Jack Alexander; North: Brady Amos; Perry: Carson Caldwell; Riverside: Caden Boyd; South: James Miller; University: Slater Schoaf; VASJ: Alex Sustarsic; West Geauga: Landon Lear; Wickliffe: Ryan Latkovich

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *