Connect with us


Australia beat India to win U19 World Cup



Australia also won the Under-19 World Cup in 1988, 2002 and 2010
ICC Under-19 Men’s World Cup final, Willowmoore Park, South Africa
Australia U19 253-7 (50.0 overs): H Singh 55; Limbani 3-38
India U19 174 all out (43.5 overs): A Singh 47; Beardman 3-15
Australia won by 79 runs

Australia won the Under-19 World Cup for the fourth time after a 79-run victory over India in the final.

Australia posted a competitive 253-7 from their 50 overs as Harjas Singh top-scored with 55 while Raj Limbani took 3-38 for India.

India opener Adarsh Singh compiled a patient 47 but only three other India batters made double figures as they were dismissed for 174.

Mahli Beardman finished the pick of the bowlers for the Aussies with 3-15.

Australia’s victory was the first time they had won the trophy at U19 level since 2010.

Victorious Australia captain Hugh Weibgen said: “I’m so proud of this group of boys and the coaches. A lot of work has gone in over the last few months.

“India are obviously a class side. They dominated the whole tournament and they were on the wrong side today but they have a lot of class.”

South Africa fast bowler Kwena Maphaka was named as the player of the tournament after he picked up 21 wickets at an average of 9.71.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *